Energy Tech logo

Firehouse Announces 2021 National Station Design Award Winners

NASHVILLE, TN//December 3rd, 2021

Firehouse Magazine announced the winners of its eighth annual Station Design Awards program, which recognizes outstanding architecture and design from fire departments and emergency facilities nationwide. 

 Gold, Silver and Bronze awards were issued across seven categories of facilities in this prestigious competition: Career 1 and 2, Satellite, Volunteer/Combination, Shared, Public Safety Training, and Renovation. All 64 participating entries were recently published in the November issue of Firehouse Magazine and online at

 “We’re excited to team up with fire departments and architecture firms to present the innovative concepts they have created to keep firefighters trained and healthy while they await the next call to serve their communities. As more departments become true all-hazard response agencies, their equipment and training needs grow, and these new facilities keep them response ready while protecting the life-saving equipment safe from the environment.”

 Janet Wilmoth, Special Projects Director to Firehouse, noted most of this year’s entries had designated areas for decontamination of fire and EMS personnel after a response.  “The need for decontamination areas–separating the ‘dirty’ from ‘clean’ areas of the station–is the direct result of continued research on firefighter cancers,” Wilmoth said. “Also, the increase of natural lighting in all entries addresses the physical and mental health of personnel.” She added, “Every one of this year’s entries is a winner for its improvements for the department and the community that they serve.”

 Winners were selected by a panel of six judges, including fire chiefs and architects experienced in recent design and construction.

 The 2021Station Design Award winners are as follows:

Career I Fire Station Award Winners (stations 15,000 square feet and larger)

Gold Award—Lexington Fire Headquarters, Lexington, MA

Architect: Tecton Architects PC, Architect of Record, Hartford, CT, and H2M architects + engineers, Firematic Architect, Latham, NY

 Silver Award—Thornton Fire Station No. 1 and Fire Administration, Thornton, CO

Architect: Allred & Associates, Broomfield, CO

 Bronze Award – Fire Station 1, Midlothian, TX

Architect: Brinkley Sargent Wiginton Architects, Dallas, TX


Career II  Fire Station Award Winners (stations less than 15,000 square feet)

Gold Award—Georgetown Fire Station No. 7, Georgetown, TX

Architect: Brown Reynolds Watford Architects Inc., College Station, TX

 Silver Award – Schertz Fire Station No. 3, Schertz, TX

Architect: Brown Reynolds Watford Architects Inc., College Station, TX

 Bronze Award – South Metro Fire Rescue Station 20, Highlands Ranch, CO

Architect: Oz Architecture, Denver, CO


Satellite Fire Station Award Winners

Gold Award – Georgetown Fire Station No. 6, Georgetown, TX

Architect: Brown Reynolds Watford Architects Inc., College Station, TX

 Silver Award – Comal County ESD 3 – Canyon Lake Fire/EMS Station 54, New Braunfels, TX

Architect: Brown Reynolds Watford Architects Inc., College Station, TX

 Bronze Award – North Hays Fire Station #74, Dripping Springs, TX (Hays Co. ESD 6)

Architect: Martinez Architects, Austin, TX


Shared Facilities Award Winners

Gold Award—San Rafael Public Safety Center, San Rafael, CA

Architect: Mary McGrath Architects, Oakland, CA

 Silver Award—Billie A. Hall Public Safety Center, Sand Springs, OK

Architect: Dewberry, Tulsa, OK


Fire Station Renovation Award Winners

Gold Award—Waltham Moody Street Fire Station, Waltham, MA

Architect: Saccoccio & Associates Architects

 Silver Award—North West Fire District Station 3, Baldwinsville, NY

Architect: CSArch, Albany, NY

 Bronze Award—Aberdeen Volunteer Fire Department, Aberdeen, MD

Architect: Manns Woodward Studios, Inc., White Marsh, MD


Public Safety Training Facility Award

Gold Award –Gilbert Public Safety Training Facility, Gilbert, AZ

Architect: HDA Architects / CORE Construction, Gilbert, AZ


Volunteer/Combination Fire Station Award Winner

Gold Award—Cy-Fair Fire Station #5, Houston, TX (Harris Co. ESD 9)

Architect: – Martinez Architects, Austin, TX

 Silver Award—Albert Lea Fire & Rescue, Albert Lea, MN

Architect: Brunton Architects & Engineers, North Mankato, MN

 Bronze Award—Spanish Fork City Station 62, Spanish Fork City, UT

Architect: Blalock & Partners, Salt Lake City, UT, with TCA Architecture Planning, Seattle, WA

For more information, contact:

Janet Wilmoth, Special Projects Director for Firehouse


Firehouse is the leading fire and emergency services brand, reaching more than 800,000 unique visitors and subscribers monthly and thousands of attendees annually via its live events and media portfolio. The Firehouse brand encompasses Firehouse Magazine,, Firehouse Expo, Firehouse Station Design Conference, Firehouse Station Design Awards, and a host of print and digital products that target fire and emergency services personnel. Utilizing its multiple platforms and unparalleled reach, Firehouse sets itself apart from the competition by fostering a culture that encourages innovation and the use of the latest digital and database technologies to best serve its audience and companies serving the marketplace.


Headquartered in Nashville, TN, Endeavor Business Media, LLC was formed in late 2017 to acquire and operate trade publications, websites, events, and marketing solutions. The company targets U.S. B2B audiences in the accounting, aviation, dental, facilities maintenance, fire & public safety, design engineering, buildings and construction, energy, manufacturing, industrial, technology, medical, securities, laser, lighting, oil & gas, public services, security, construction, vehicle repair, vending, and water & wastewater markets.

For more information, visit